A listing of court-approved mediators can be found at www.utcourts.gov/mediation. Those mediators who have MM (Master Mediator) next to their name are very experienced mediators; they have at least 300 hours of mediation experience. The designation of DM is for a Domestic Mentor, which is a mediator who has at least 300 hours of mediating issues specifically related to families. Finally, the designation of DV (Domestic Violence) means the mediator has gone through specialized training in dealing with domestic violence.
Collaborative attorneys can be found through CFLU (Collaborative Family Lawyers of Utah).
Divorce Orientation Education Class & Education for Divorcing Parents Class
If a couple has children, Utah law requires them to attend two classes—a Divorce Orientation Education class and an Education for Divorcing Parents class—before the divorce can be finalized. More information about these classes, including times and locations, is available on the web.
Utah Legal Services
People who have a low income and who have experienced physical abuse from their spouse can qualify for a free attorney through Utah Legal Services.
Initial consultations for divorce People who have a low income and who have experienced physical abuse from their spouse can qualify for a free attorney through Utah Legal Services.
Online Court Assistance Program (OCAP)
Legal forms for people who want to do their own paperwork. Low-income individuals also can file paperwork in order to waive the filing fees associated with divorce. These can be printed off of the Online Court Assistance Program [OCAP].